top of page

Legislator of the Year Award

The CalSPAC Delegation selects a Legislator of the Year to recognize the efforts of a Legislator who has shown commitment to the CalSPAC focus areas and Junior League efforts. Delegates submit nominations for the “Legislator of the Year” using the nomination form to the Co-Chairs at least one week prior to the Winter Conference.  At the Winter Conference, each member league votes for one of the nominees. The award is then presented to the winning Legislator at the Day at the Capitol Conference in May.

2023-2024 Legislator of the Year - Assemblymember Sabrina Cervantes

Assemblymember Sabrina Cervantes, the inaugural Latina Millennial elected to the State Assembly, fervently champions the interests of families and children in the Inland Empire. Her legislative advocacy has resulted in the enactment of 39 impactful bills, addressing critical issues such as maternal mental health services, student financial aid, survivor protections, and economic inclusivity. 
Demonstrating unwavering dedication to community well-being, she secures substantial investments from the State Budget to fortify the region's economy, enhance wildfire resilience, and strengthen voting protections, while ensuring access to vital resources for working families, children, veterans, and students. 
Assemblymember Cervantes' commitment to grassroots engagement is exemplified through her organization of community events like the Taco and Taxes initiative and Cash for College Workshops, offering invaluable support to area students and families. Through her multifaceted efforts, she continues to profoundly impact the lives of families and children within her district and beyond. 
CalSPAC proudly presents the 2024 Legislator of the Year Award to the esteemed District 58 Assemblymember Sabrina Cervantes.

Past Winners

2022-2023 - Senator Dave Cortese

2021-2022 - Senator Susan Rubio

2020-2021 - Assemblymember Buffy Wicks

2018-2019 - Assemblymember Susan Talamantes Eggman

2017-2018 - Senator Scott Weiner

2016-2017 - Senator Toni Atkins

2013-2014 - Senator Marty Block

2012-2013 - Senator Hannah-Beth Jackson, Assemblymember Bonnie Lowenthal

2011-2012 - Senator Joe Simitian, Assemblymember Anthony Portantino

2010-2011 - Senator Mark DeSaulnier

2009-2010 - Assemblymember Fiona Ma, Assemblymember Pedro Nava

2008-2009 - Assemblymember Julia Brownley, Assemblymember Pedro Nava

2006-2007 - Senator Sheila Kuehl, Assemblymember Todd Spitzer

2004-2005 - Senator Elaine Alquist, Assemblymember Wilma Chan

2002-2003 - Senator Jackie Speier, Assemblymember Joe Simitian

2000-2001 - Senator Jackie Speier

1999-2000 - Senator Jackie Speier, Assemblymember Elaine Alquist 

1998-1999 - Assemblymember Sheila Kuehl

1997-1998 - Assemblymember Jim Cunneen *(Inaugural year of this award)

bottom of page